change D64 image from within software

change D64 image from within software

Postby MadModder » Sat Oct 21, 2006 11:47 am

I just found out that it is possible to change to another D64 image without LOAD"$x",8

just

OPEN1,8,1,"$x":CLOSE1

where x is the row number in the directory. As soon as the next file command is executed, it's inside the new image.
Nice to have if one writes a games menu with automatic load and run. :)
MadModder
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:22 pm

Postby Jan D » Sat Oct 21, 2006 1:25 pm

Hello Madmodder,
an excellent idea :D :D :D

For those who would like to know what happens on a 1541-III with a display connected:

when typing

OPEN1,8,1,"$x":CLOSE1

nothing happens on the display :shock: , but inside the 1541-III the current file is set to the new open file as refered to as the x in the command stated above.
Then when loading the directory (load"$",8) the display changes to the selected filename of the selected D64 file.
Or when loading a file from the new selected D64 file the display stays unchanged but the file will be loaded. So now the displayed filename of the currently selected file is incorrect (time for a firmware update :? ).
This method is excelent in changing the selected .D64 file without loading the directory the conventional way and without pressing the buttons. This is indeed the way to go with special card browsing software.
Jan D
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 9:05 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Grokk » Sat Oct 21, 2006 2:02 pm

This is indeed the way to go with special card browsing software.

Like the next version of my DTVBASIC. :)
I discovered the behaviour when I extended the DIR function last week, however, I expected this behaviour and didn't think much about it.

I hope to release version 0.4 of the DTVBASIC next week, which has:

DIR - Dir of the ramdisk
DIR 1 - Dir of the flashmem
DIR X - Normal dir of a 1541/71/81 ("$") X=unit number
DIR X,N - Dir of (and change to) image N of the DTV-III X=unit number
Grokk
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Pyrofer » Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:10 am

Hey, thats great. Thanks for thinking of us when writing that!

Looks like DTV users are getting a real treat at the moment.
Pyrofer
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 11:06 pm

Postby MadModder » Mon Oct 23, 2006 5:55 pm

Maybe it's not doing any harm using channel 1 for this purpose because nothing is written or so, but it should be

OPEN1,8,2,...

and not 1 after the 8. Any from 2 to 14 will do.
Channels 0 and 1 are reserved for the LOAD and SAVE functions.
MadModder
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 8:22 pm

Postby Jan D » Tue Oct 24, 2006 6:56 pm

ANNOUNCEMENT:
--------------------

Hello all,
especially for those who are developing software for the 1541-III...

the command LOAD"$" was used to load the directory of the currently selected file and
the command LOAD"$0" was reserved for loading/selecting the cards
directory
The command LOAD"$<index>" was reserved for selecting the required D64 file.

In order for the 1541-III to function with the Prophet64 cartridge and possibly with some other (not known by me) software as well. The following change in functionality WILL be made: LOAD"$0" will be replaced by LOAD"$CARD". The new functionality of the LOAD"$0" equals the use of the LOAD"$" command.

Thank you for your attention.
Regards, Jan Derogee
Jan D
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 9:05 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to 1541-III-DTV Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron